TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Decision making is an important part of our lives. Our decisions often cause different consequences in the future, that’s why it is so important to choose the right. Some people believe that young people have no influence on the important decision that determines the future of the society; others disagree. Even though some people might find the influence of young people because they are more active in political life by establishing new political organizations or by fighting during demonstrations. In my view, young people have no influence on the important decision for two important reasons.

The main reason is that young people are not the majority. In all well-developed countries, the majority are senior citizens. And when a community has to make a decision a young people don’t have enough votes to support their view. For example, two years ago, in my hometown, Kharkiv citizen had an option between building a new park or lowering the tax rates. The senior citizen supported the idea about the construction of the park because it would provide for them a good place for relaxing and opportunity to enjoy the nature. The young people, on the other hand, wanted to lower taxes because it would be beneficial for small business and would attract more international companies and investments in the city, as a result, it would have provided more job opportunities and increased the wealth of citizen dramatically. Because the majority wanted to build the park the second proposal was denied even though it would provide more benefits. As you can see, young people can’t influence on the important decision because they are not the majority.

Another important reason is that young people don’t have enough political power. In all countries, the government consists primarily of older people, who are usually older than forty five years, and has a small number of young people, who don't usually have enough political power to achieve their . For instance, in my country, the parliament consists of four hundred fifty representatives, that are chosen during election company, and only twelve of them are younger than thirty-five years. This tiny amount of people couldn’t oppose others and promote their own suggestions, as a result, it is hard for them to influence on an important decision. Also, they are influenced by older and became more corrupted. Older people could manipulate them in order to get more votes. As you can see, young people don’t have enough political power and just became a tool of the older governors, who have more political and economic power in their hand.

In conclusion, young people don’t influence on important decisions. Not only because they don’t have enough political power, but also because they are not the majority of the society.