TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Human beings always owe much of its dominance over other species on Earth to their society which has evolved considerably over time. At first blush, most, if not all, people believe that communications between different populations, such as rich and poor, young and old, become more frequent when our society advances. Surprisingly, some people contend that the gap between youngsters and elderlies has been not eliminated but widened over the past decades and that young people possess less power to influence their society. From where I stand, I concede that this statement is right. I will elaborate my point of view in the following essay.

Admittedly, young people today have more ways to participate in the decision making of our society. In the past, only social elites can by way of traditional medium like newspaper express their opinions regarding some issues that had drawn much attention from the public. In fact, normal individuals lacked a way specialized for diffusing the voices of the populace. Thanks to the advent of the Internet, a large proportion of users of which are young populations, people begin to have equal right to express their opinions. Consider the most popular social networking website Facebook. It allows netizens to not only enlarge their social circles by meeting new friends but also keep up with the latest news around the world from some pages of media. Understandably, by freely exchanging their ideas on websites, young people are more inclined to affect their society.

Yet this power is far from the ground truth of the real world and consequently too weak to exert any influence. The fact is that, compared with the young, older people are more influential. The first reason that comes to mind is that the overwhelming workload that young people today are suffering prevents them from attending the process of changing and reshaping the society. Encountering fierce competition in the contemporary world, youngsters are under a huge amount of pressure because of various problems they have to deal with. For students, not only are they required to learn theories on campus, but they also seize an opportunity for an internship so as to gain practical experience. For young people who have graduated from schools, to relieve their stress caused by the increasing living cost, they have no choice but to extend their office hours for extra pay. After a day of work, a vast majority of them either take a part-time job or attend a night school to learn the state-of-the-art techniques to improve themselves. Clearly, it is impossible for them to devote sufficient time and energy to their society. As a consequence, they have little effect on important decisions.

Another reason is that young people are generally not trusted by the public due to their lack of experience. We can easily observe that in democratic countries like the United States, only a little number of officials and delegates, who are elected by people and have the real power to influence the whole country, are below 40 years old. It is not hard to imagine that electorates prefer to vote for older politicians. How can they have confidence in a young man who is believed to have less experience and knowledge as needed to help him work both effectively and efficiently? How can they assure that a younger delegate can make a correct decision for their country? That is why few youngsters can attend in the agenda of the administration.

In sum, despite the evidence that they are more dominant on the Internet, young people actually have less influence on the society in large part because their schedules are tight and they are relatively mistrusted by the public.