Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

The dominance of human beings over other species relies on their civilization and education. In the society which has evolved over time, family education is no doubt an important part of the development of a person. An obvious example is that in the past, young people always took account of their parents' opinion when making decisions. Yet it is believed by a throng of people that family education today is playing a less significant role than before and youngsters turn to make decisions on their own. From where I stand, I strongly agree with this statement and I will elaborate my point of view in the following essay.

Admittedly, most, if not all, young people in the past could not make a decision effectively and efficiently without the aid of their family members. First and foremost, parents could provide a suggestion based on their experience. Consider a case in which a young man had to decide which car to buy. It is not hard to imagine that parents who had suffered several natural disasters, like water contamination or heavy fogs, would suggest his offsprings to purchase a car with lower carbon emission or producing little toxic chemical, which would aggravate the atmosphere and further induce more cases of lung cancers. This example illustrates that in the past, the empirical knowledge of parents could facilitate young people to make important decisions.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned advantages of parents' suggestions, it is too hasty to conclude that the assistance of parents is able to play the same role as it did. In fact, with everything in the contemporary world changing so rapidly, much of their experience has become meaningless. For example, it is common that parents require their children to spend less time watching television with the aim to help them maintain a good eyesight. However, scientists have invented certain techniques that can make the screen of television less harmful to human vision and applied it widely, so children are less likely to become nearsighted due to overexposure to television. Unfortunately, children who are dependent on parents' suggestion and supervision are inclined to miss the opportunity to grasp useful knowledge from a variety of television programs.

Furthermore, the development of information technology has further weakened young people's dependence on their parents. Consequently, older people seem to be defeated by the Internet, which can provide an astronomical amount of information. It is unsurprising that as a new, popular invention, the Internet never fails to fascinate young people. For example, when they have some problems, youngsters can search an answer on Quora, where millions of users, including experts in all fields, online 24/7, can provide them with practical answers from the most professional perspective. There is no reason for young people to abandon this new choice but continue to rely on their parents who can only offer solutions based on their limited knowledge and experience.

To sum up, considering that a blanket of changes in our modern society not only make parents' assistance less useful but also bring a more omnipotent tool for young people to solve problems more trivially, it is reasonable that young people prefer to make decisions on their own.