Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

The modern society is the place of making a decision. The fundament of the current society is shaped based upon the each individual's decision. While some people are convincing that the nowadays the children make their own choices independently from their parents; others, on the other hand, believe otherwise. I absolutely agree with the first belief. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons which persuade me to put forward this perspective.

The first reason which advocates my outlook is that today's family structure and its relationship differ from the past family's interaction. Indeed, in the modern society, each member of household considers as equal and vital as other members. There is no matter how old is she or what she is capable of. All of them with any responsibility and ability are treated identically. As a result, each person in a family is accountable for her own decision. This situation applies to the children too. Even a six years old boy is responsible for his choices, and he is able to make a decision about the fields such as his clothing or his school. A vivid example can be given to shed light on the issue is my nephew's instance. He is five years old and single kid of family. He is capable of making a decision about what to wear, which kindergarten to go. In none of these spots, his parents do not attempt to influence his idea; moreover, he freely makes his choices.

The second factor which gives adherence to my idea is that the adult children are more independent in comparison to the past children. It is lucidly explicit that the majority of the youths after the age of 18 experience the sense of the independency. This independence can be defined in the various ways. One of these definitions is the financial independence. According to the noteworthy, intelligent survey conducted in my country, approximately sixty-five percent of the youths, above the age of 20, in the Tehran have the monetary independence; therefore, they live separate from their parents and tackle their daily duties lonely. In this situation, if they face a dilemma or difficulty, they will address that situation based on own thought and not their parents' belief.

Nonetheless, some people may assume that the kids are relayed on their relatives in any condition, and due to their needs, they ask for the help from their parents. Conversely, they overlook this subtle point that calling for the advice varies from the making the decision. It is an undeniable fact, the people require advice from the wiser and elder people to guarantee the outcome, but it does not mean that those people make the ultimate decision. In the modern life, the children can seek the advice from their parents to opt the best, ultimate option; however, they do not depend on them for making a decision.

To wrap it up, based on the aforementioned reasons, one can logically draw the conclusion that the current young people do not depend on their parents for making a decision since the family structure alters fundamentally from the past period. Also, the children experience independence from their youth age.