Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Nowadays, most of the individuals believe that the effect of parents in youth’s lives declined remarkably in comparison with the past. I completely agree with this viewpoint and believe that the proportion of the youth who incline to decide individually has increased, and their decision does not depend on their parents as much as before.

To begin with, as the literacy rate in the youth communities has escalated considerably, individuals think that they can better manage harsh situations in solitude rather than interfering parents on their issues. It is a fact obvious that as the world is rapidly changing to be more complex and technology-based, the youth believe that they can better realize different situations than their parents. With this in mind, they claim that their parents’ beliefs are out of date, and it is not beneficial for them to obey their parents’ opinions. A method that a precocious student prefers to use for their study can be a compelling example of this. They do not oblige the rules that their parents persuade them, for they believe that the shown rope is not suitable for them and the method for learning courses has changed during the time. Moreover, they believe that their parents’ literacy is not sufficient to assist them in their lessons. Therefore, they do not ask their parents’ assistance, for they believe that they are more knowledgeable than them.

Secondly, as nowadays people tend to live individually, they rarely ask their parents for help, and they prefer to accept the responsibility of their activities by themselves. For one thing, since the rate of large families has decreased during the last decades, which means that the youth prefer to live lonely, they have to accept the potential risk in their lives, for they do not in their parents’ territory anymore. For another, people used to live not only with their parents, but also with their extended families, such as aunts and grandparents in the past. It is because they used to work traditionally and as a group. However, thanks to the industrial revolution, the youth incline to work in modern companies and as a solo-person to deal with their tasks, individually. Therefore, the effect of their parents on their private life has declined, for the youth do not live with them and depend on them.

In conclusion, there are several numerous reasons which can be persuasive enough to prove that nowadays, the rate of youth’s independency toward their parents has incremented considerably, for they believe that they not only have more knowledge than their parents, but also they prefer to live individually.