Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

People make friends if their interests and characteristics correlate with someone that has the similar to theirs. People in the past had many opportunities to meet other human being and found those similarities and they became many friends. I agree people in the ancient time were friendlier when compared than the present modern day life. I feel this way because of less human attraction between people with the interference of technology.

First and foremost, people nowadays don’t want to leave the comfort of their home as they are too much attached with their gadgets. Moreover, people never get bored being at one spot since they are fully occupied with their online world such as face book, Instagram, twitter and countless social media that are on the spurge.. As a result, they never get a chance to meet people in person to develop friendship in close proximity. For instance, one might have thousands of friends on face book but in reality they don’t have a true friend that can physically come and help them in times of need. Recently in our neighboring apartment, we had a family that suffered from break-in enter theft. The intruder pretended that he was someone like that was living in the home and stole everything in a truck as if he was moving out of the apartment. No one in the apartment really noticed anything strange was going in the apartment campus until the family returned home in the evening from work was so shocked to see that their home was empty and everything that they possessed was all gone in a day. They family was left in despair and devastated both mentally and financially. On top of that, they couldn’t even claim anything because they did not have any eye-witness that can describe the thieves. This situation could have been avoided if they have made any friends that are in close proximity within their dwelling place.

On the other hand, there was no room for such an unpleasant moment could take place in the past as people in the neighborhood community know each other inside out. People in those days had various opportunities to meet community members. For instance, when I was growing-up we used to have block parties where we had chance to meet other members in our community. As a result, we developed great relationship with many families in the neighborhood. As a result, we all carpooled to school and spent our weekends together. Moreover, we shared sweets and greetings during Christmas. Hence, our friendship grew and strengthened in a long run . As a result, we had a chance to get to know everyone in our block. To illustrate this situation, when we were young, our house broke into flames in the middle of night. Our smoke alarm malfunctioned and did not indicate us and we were in deep sleep in our bedroom which was on the third floor. Fortunately, our neighbor who witnessed the fire called us using her phone and we were able to escape the fire. Later, fireman arrived to put off the fire in the house. We wouldn’t have survived without that neighbor's timely phone call that saved our lives.

In conclusion, this present world suffers from lack of friendliness that impacts them negatively which was not the case in the past.