TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

The dominance of human beings over other species on the earth, which can be reflected by the fact that people have completely changed the world over the past hundreds of years, mostly relies on the continuing evolvement of technology. Does technology always bring good consequences? People hardly can say yes. Indeed, a growing number of people begin to realize that they are not as happy or satisfied as before. From where I stand, I support this point of view and elaborate my reasons in the following essay.

At first blush, I have to concede that a variety of technologies invented by scientists and experts who have devoted themselves to the study of their field have greatly changed our society. First and foremost, the improvement of transportation makes it possible for people to travel to farther places. For supporting instances, one needs to look no further than the advent of the high-speed bullet train, which enables people in rural areas to spend about only one hour to move to the nearest metropolis. Besides, fruits and vegetables now have better quality thanks to the advancement of agricultural techniques. A trend of imbibing nutrients needed by humans from organic food has emerged among the rich. It is not hard to imagine that having a better standard of living, people become happier and more satisfied.

Notwithstanding the evidence of improving techniques, it is too hasty to conclude that people enjoy their lives in the contemporary world more than in the past. The first reason undermining this idea is the fierce competition. To get a competitive edge over their peers, when at school, young people are required to learn theories related to their majors, write papers, make presentations, and do experiments. They also have to seize an opportunity for an internship so as to gain practical experience. In addition, having a position after graduation does not mean that they are not obliged to study anymore. In fact, a vast majority of people attend a training school after daily work in order to gain the essential knowledge of state-of-the-art technologies and necessary skills, which further aggravate their burden. Understandably, compared to the society in the past where competition was less intensive, current world make people less satisfied.

Worse still, with environmental problems drawing more attention than before, the feelings of people about their lives become worse. First, due to the rapid growth of the industry, growing is the number of vehicles which has polluted the air by producing a huge amount of carbon dioxide and other toxic gas. In cities where the air is heavily polluted, people have to wear a mask every day. Second, water sources of many countries have been contaminated by industries which directly dumped their waste into rivers without any treatment. As a consequence, water downstream is undrinkable, aggravating the problem of freshwater availability. Therefore, people turn to be less satisfied with their environment.

To sum up, in spite of a higher standard of living improved by technologies, the quickly changing world worsen the feeling of people about their lives in large part by causing fierce competition and deteriorating their environment.