TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

Suppose that you are sitting in a meeting room and your boss is speaking volubly. After perceiving that he said something wrong, what would you do? Pointing out the mistake immediately or keeping silent like others? In my opinion, I prefer to talk to my boss after the meeting with the following statements.

To begin with, correcting their mistake right away will get us trapped in various troubles in the future. Firstly, this seemingly outspoken behavior would lead to an impression of being impolite, whereas courteous is the most important quality that every employee should possess from a leader’s perspective. It is clear that making our boss annoyed will result in relatively slower promotion, which will consequently exacerbate our financial burden and spoil our life quality. Meanwhile, it will also expose our lack of communication skills. Because communication between two people absolutely lays a foundation for their friendship, it is not hard to imagine that we will have difficulty in making friends who can offer assistance to us when we confront problems from any aspects. Therefore, it is not recommended to interrupt and point out the error directly.

Furthermore, saying nothing will bring us unexpected consequence in some cases. It is because that an unnoticeable mistake in a leader’s decision will be amplified and eventually damage the whole company. Nokia could be a perfect example of this point. Mobile phones produced by Nokia used to be prevalent. However, ignoring the advent of iOS and other smart systems, its CEO insisted on developing devices equipped with their slower and outdated Symbian system. Unfortunately, this decision lead to Nokia’s decline in the following years and their staffs suffered a lot during this depression. Considering the fatal result, we should not play dumb and keep quiet.

Compared to those options mentioned above, pointing out that problem after the meeting are more conducive to our prospect. Firstly, it makes the leader aware of our profession. Kind of surprising but reasonable is that some administrators prefer those subordinates who can strengthen the company’s productivity and sustainability by figuring out inconspicuous mistakes. Secondly, the leaders are bound to be grateful to us because we maintain their self-esteem. Relying on their authority, they desire to expose their faults to us as less as possible. Last but not least, it reflects our high emotional quotient, demonstrating our social skills.

Now the problem becomes easier: Would you like to experience unwilling troubles or to facilitate your career? Maybe nobody prefers the former. Therefore I strongly suggest everyone point out the leader’s mistake when others have left.