TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Well-known people draw enough attention from us. Not only do we focus on their profession, but we also enjoy gossiping about their private lives. Thus, they frequently appear in various media and express their opinions. From where I stand, the pieces of advice conveyed by them are more important to the youngsters than to older populations. I will elaborate my view in the following essay.

The first reason that comes into my mind is that the youth are easily affected because they are fans of those famous people. Under the drive to become as successful as they are, it is reasonable that youngsters put their examples a high priority. Undoubtedly, whatever the celebrities say can exert an unparalleled effect on the youth who always actively devote much of their energy and time into following their favorite stars. For example, it is common that girls who love Taylor Swift try to imitate her hairstyle and behaviors. By contrast, with less passion for popular stars, older people are to different extent less influenced by celebrities.

Another reason is probably that younger populations, especially teenagers under 18 years old, have not fully developed their own opinions. Due to their innocence, they are more likely to believe in others without any suspicion. It is not hard to imagine that well-known people, such as singers and athletes, who have more opportunities to disperse their ideas, possess a power to shape the minds of teenagers. For instance, children can learn from the stars that they should take part in environmental preservation by using environmentally friendly energy. However, older people will not be moved by the words of celebrities because they have their own ideas. It is unnecessary for them to learn how to protect our environment from the stars – they have already known.

Furthermore, it is because older people cannot keep up with the trend due to their heavy burden that they have little knowledge about celebrities at present. Confronting intensive and fierce competition in the contemporary world, there are many things that older people have to deal with during working hours. After work, most of them go to training schools to learn cutting-edge technologies and practical skills to enhance their ability. To shoulder the responsibility of taking care of their children, adults have no choice but to save their time from knowing which actor is most favored recently to devote themselves into work and study. Unsurprisingly, the opinions of celebrities who are like strangers to them are of less significance.

From the reasons aforementioned, I agree that celebrities' opinions are more important to youngsters than to older people.