TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The dominance of human beings over other species on the earth in large part relies on the evolvement of civilization, which is mostly contributed by numerous teachers. However, some people thought that paying more attention on celebrities like businessmen and politicians, nowadays people did not admire teachers as much as in the past, which I highly disagree with.

The first reason that comes into my mind is that with the increasing importance of education, people appreciate teachers more. It is clear that to have a more competitive edge over their peers, the only way for young people is to attend a college for further study, where students can learn the state-of-the-art skills and advanced technologies. Devoting their time and energy in their work and helping students accomplish their assignments in both correct and efficient ways, it is impossible that students disrespect these unselfish teachers. In China, if a student who graduates from a college and receives a satisfying offer from a top-tier firm, his or her family will invite the teachers for a sumptuous dinner to express their gratefulness.

Furthermore, people are overwhelmed by a plethora of media where we can always see teachers with different characteristics. For example, a talk show can be home to humorous teachers adept at talking jokes in their class, a singing competition is a fascinating stage for teachers to show their talent in the area of music. Undoubtedly, some amazing facets of teachers which are not exposed to students and their parents are shown in these TV programs. Besides, we can easily find in the news channels some stories which focus on teachers’ personal life rather than their working performance. The audience can be easily moved by those teachers who lighted up the world on their ordinary positions.

Higher income is also a reason that cannot be ignored. As a result of the combination of the increasing population, the fierce competition in the job market and the importance of education, there are considerable academic colleges and professional training schools in our society, which provide numerous positions and unprecedentedly high salary for not only teachers who have tens of years of experience but also students who just graduate from normal colleges. It is not difficult to imagine that having a higher salary than other jobs, teachers are greatly valued by us.

Opposing the view that teachers are less appreciated now, from the reasons aforementioned, I believe that they are more appreciated indeed due to the significance of education, the influence of media and their increasing income.