TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

Team working is a familiar topic for many people, but people have always been concerned about this subject, because working in a team has some advantages and disadvantages. Some people prefer to avoid it and the rest of them prefer to work as a member of a team. In my view, working in a team has many advantages compared with working alone especially in school.

First and foremost, working as a member a team will teach students to learn how to communicate with others in work atmosphere. It has positive effects on students specially those who are shy at school. They cannot learn anything more than their lessons if they were in a competitive atmosphere. Group assignment will create an opportunity for students to contact each other and know each other better than before. For example, one of my friends in college back in my home country Iran, met a beautiful girl in a group assignment and they were friends for more than nine years. After that, they found out that they are suitable for each other and they got married. These things are the best motivation for students to be the best in the class.

Second, students can learn from each other. Psychologically, young adults are close to their classmates and their friends. They can ask a question of their friends for thousands of times, but many students hesitate to ask a question of their teacher. In a group project students have an opportunity to discuss their problems and talk about their weaknesses. Undoubtedly, understanding a content will help them to be successful at school and getting a better grade in exams.

Third, working in a group is fun for students. They can do their project as a game. For instance, my sister is a teacher in high school back in my home country Iran. She started to put some new rules in her class two years ago. She told to all of her students that they have to be ready to work with each other in every single moment. For example, when she ask a group of students to prepare a power point in 30 minutes, they have to divide all tasks and do it as fast as possible with each other. These new rules were effective on efficiency of her class.

To sum up, working as a member in a team is not only fun, but also has a huge influence on the efficiency in school.