TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

Admittedly, public awareness regarding education has significantly increased over the last decades. Due to its importance, people harbor different perception of the learning process. It has been argued that through group projects, students learn effectively meanwhile, others believe that it can cause some negative consequences. While I am of the opinion that it can not be generalized to all cases, I tend to agree on the former view based on the following concerns.

Firstly, the main function of cooperative projects is that students make an effort for achieving a common goal. In fact, the most important implication of group-oriented activities is the feeling of connection which allows them to ask any confusing material from each member of the group. In addition, through free discussion to get done the assignments, students can share their belief or suggestion openly. Since their achievements have a close tie not only in their interpersonal abilities such as the sense of responsibility and understanding but also it compels them to enhance their communication and critical thinking skill. Therefore, it can broaden their horizon to perceive various educational materials comprehensively.

Moreover, the group-oriented assignment not only is more productive because of sharing tasks but also there is regarded as a way to avoid procrastination. To begin with, each member has to be done part of group projects which closely accord with his/her ability. Hence, the motivation for the best efforts might unconsciously increase. Furthermore, students, if alone, postpone their assignments until last minutes. However, regular appointments for group projects breaks monotony as well as helps students to be self-disciplined. In brief, as it cuts down the amount of time to a different portion of meetings, it saves their time and also energy to learn materials efficiently.

Despite these advantages, there has been some occasions that group project can not be as beneficial as it is expected. Prior to any group decision making, all members of group ideas and suggestions should have been examined which consequently, some intrinsic conflicts might happen and consume students' time on futile concepts. In addition, an unequal participation of some group members might disappoint talented students or dispassion them to work cooperatively.

From what have been discussed, cooperative assignments can benefit students in different ways. As it was mentioned, it develops different essential skills in a minimum amount of time and brings them joy. However, teachers might carefully consider students' activity to help them tackle some group project problems.