The following appeared in a letter from a department chairperson to the president of Pierce University. "Some studies conducted by Bronston College, which is also located in a small town, reveal that both male and female professors are happier living in

Recently, the chairperson of Bronston College suggests a recommendation for Pierce University that is both of them located in the small town. Regarding to this issue, the author of the argument concludes that those professors who their spouses are working in the same geological area have a happier life style. He presents some evidence to suggest this is valid including the improvement of morale of entire staff. Even though the underlying issue may have merits, because of lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The first point and the most important one is that the research done by Bronston College should not be generalized to the Pierce University. The only thing that is common between Bronston College and Pierce University is their location. In fact, being in the small town is not a cogent reason to conclude that this study will work for that university. The author has completely forgotten to mention other attributes like reputation or their rate of students or other characteristics which make this two institutions similar. Hence, lack of logical reasons to attribute these institution akin make this argument with lots of loopholes.

The other problem with this argument relates to the vague language. According to the editorial, the author cites that if both female and male professors are employing in the same university, they are "happier". The author does not elucidate that in which aspect, they are happier or how this feeling has been evaluated. Moreover, there is a possibility if both spouses are employing in the same university in a mega city, possibly they have the same emotion and feeling. In fact, the argument is not that clear. If the author has mentioned that because of fresh and peaceful environment of small city or due to the less air pollution or other problems seen in large city, the professors have high level of satisfaction, the argument can be more compelling and cogent.

One more thing is that the author has forgotten to cite the Pierce competing advantages, which can absorb more talent spouses. In fact, the argument should notice why new professors with their spouses might choose this university and not going to the higher rank universities like Harvard or MIT. To illustrate more, the author of this editorial can express some benefits of being hired by the Pierce University like the better living condition, higher salary and to name but a few. However, he does not consider any above reasons and mentions that the money that spent in this way would be logical. Not surprisingly, in this situation just a few professor might accept this offer and will work in this small town and the money would be wasted.

In Conclusion, the authors in this argument can not provide enough and impressive reasons to support his claims. Even though the author might present some real fact, his wrong generalization of Bronston College to the Pierce University makes it invalidate. Moreover, some other attribution should be mentioned to support other's author claim about the similarity between these two institutions and the new professors' tendencies to apply for the Pierce University.