The function of science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each.

Not surprisingly, both art and science have long been the cornerstone of every human society. People have different perception toward the purpose of the art and science. While some believe that the function of science is to reassure and on the other side, the art causes ennui, Some are of the opinion that they are wrong. To the best of my knowledge, both of them can have some positive advantages, that in some occasions these functions might be reversed.

The first point springs to mind is that advances in technology and science can pave the human's way for better life style and help them to improve their level of thoughts and living conditions. To begin with, the advances in telecommunication devices that allow people to be in touch with each other regardless of how far they are. Due to modern technologies and applications like What's app or Skype, any individuals can keep in touch with their families and friends without any restriction based on the geological distances. Moreover, advances in medicines and clinical equipment help people to be save from any noxious and harmful disease. As an example, last few decades, large number of people have lost their lives because of contagious disease and lack of sanitized tools and equipment. However, nowadays the increasing number of hospitals and their modern and new facilities that are available to help patients can be regarded as the most important factor in science for its reassurance function in every body's life.

On the negative side, it should be noted that art is not always helpful to boost the level of human society. In fact, in some inventions like atomic bomb or some addicted pills( industrial pills) are the negative advances in science. To clarify this issue, it is clear that atomic bomb in Japan not only caused a lot of injuries but also the harmful effect lasted for a long time after Hiroshima bombardment. Many Japanese died and most of other people that lived there had majors disease like cancers. Additionally, the harmful and detected pills like weed or and other hazardous substances cause young people to be addicted and have long lasting disease with never-improved effect.

This issue is correct for art function. In fact, art is the same as the science and simultaneously can have negative or positive function. First, some kinds of the art in different forms like movies, music or other types like writing or even reading a book can assuage human's pain. For example, listening to the Beethoven or Mozart's songs can calm down us and make us so relax. Admittedly, watching some kinds of film like "Shaw shank redemption" can motivate you and encourage you to be hopeful. In fact, these kind of art reminds people never give up. However, some other movies and kinds of art or music push us to think deeply and make us depressed. To illustrate, some famous painting about poverty or human' obstacles or social problems might upset us, but it seems absurd if we say all kinds of art cause people unhappiness.

From what have been discussed, it is obvious that every coin has two sides. Developments in science and medicines or other fields have brought about different advantages to human society. Conversely, sometimes these benefits might act reversely and threaten human lives. Art also can be regarded as an entity that have the same role as science. In some occasions it can inspire human and sometimes it upsets you.