TPO 39 - Independent taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People financially and psychologically rely on their jobs to secure their future. Time passing, careers have experienced tremendous changes. On one hand, there is a group who believe that nowadays finding a proper job which guarantees your future and assures you that there will not be any lost, is challenging. On the other hand, there is another group who consider it as an exaggeration and apparently, hold the opposite view of point. Admittedly, based on my observations I agree with the former attitude toward the issue. People have numerous explicit reasons regarding to the argument and I would explore some which are conspicuous for me.

To begin with, nowadays, fast pace of world changing has brought innumerable jobs to the existence. You have many possible jobs to choose that deciding among them is very arduous work. Considering that you have variety of interests and gifts, you may have got interested in different jobs which all emerged during last decade, no one, however, is aware about their prospect. Keeping that in mind that money is not always the case when you choose a job, you may find a high-paid job too boring in the future. For example, once I have got interested in website developing and the other time in digital photo editing which are among new emerged jobs and both well-paid. Accordingly, in separate times, I started to work in both career which turned to be very exhausting and boring for me. Anyone around me did not have any experience and knowledge about the careers and so they could not consult me. After short time, I needed to change my both careers. So as you can see, numerous jobs do not guarantee your success.

Furthermore, job prospects are vague because of the emerging of technology. You see all around the new technologies based on programming, neural network, artificial intelligence and robotic which are going to take the place of people in doing tasks. For instance, there is a new Iranian application, termly “Snap” which is similar to “Uber” in USA. People were used to call taxi agencies to transport in a city. Currently, they all have installed the application on their smartphones and use it to find a geographically close taxi to take them to their destination. We cannot undermine the application though, because it facilitates commuting for us. However, it has caused elimination of some jobs like taxi agency managers. According to that, now if someone chooses to be a manager of taxi agency, he cannot be assured that he will have a stable job and subsequently, persistent income and flourishing prospect. There are also worries that same may happen for other jobs, too.

To conclude, careers future is not secure anymore not only in order to emerging innumerable jobs, but also for the developing technologies which are taking the place of people’s careers. Taking them into account, I would draw the conclusion that jobs prospects is getting worse and it needs us to have deeper look in the situation.