TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, all psychologists concur that rewarding and encouraging systems work better than punishment systems whether in schools or workplace. When a person gets rewards even a small reward for his or her endeavor, he or she feels good and put more effort into his or her work. In contrast, punishing a person because of his or her mistakes despair the person and hamper him or her to try more. This subject significantly matters in an educational system. The school-age children need to be rewarded for their achievements by their teacher or parents. The rewards that are given by parents can be a small amount of money. In my perspective, giving children money as a reward due to their high marks is beneficial because of two reasons which I will explore them in the following essay.

First of all, as I mentioned earlier in the previous paragraph, rewarding money can be taken into account as a positive feedback to what children have done. In this case, the children try to study hard to earn more money and buy something that they dream about. However, it is noteworthy to mention that if the children are spoiled, that is they have had everything that they have asked for in their life, rewarding money does not work at all because the children feel that they are provided everything by parents as soon as they ask, hence, they do not need to hard study in order to earn and save money to buy it by themselves.

Secondly, when children are given money because of their effort, they value the money earned more, thus, they do not waste it to buy junk. They know how much effort they have put into and know that earning money is not easy. Therefore, they subconsciously learn how to spend their money and buy things that they really need. My own experience is a good example for this case. When I saved all money that I was rewarded for two years, then, I bought an iPad for myself which I really needed at the time.

To sum up, I believe that giving money as a reward to school-age children, in case that they are not spoiled, is advantageous. Apart from motivating them to try more, they learn how to save money and also, perceive the real value of money that they have worked for it.