Tpo 40- Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Most of the parents are concerned about the success of their children. Academic success is defined as one of the achievement that most of the parents would like their children gain. Some of them believe that they can facilitate their children success by giving them gifts for each high score that they gain in school. However, other hold the view that giving children money as an encouragement has disadvantages for children academic life and children behaviour. I strongly agree with latter group opinion that parents should pay attention to long-term consequences of this action.

Giving money to children for achieving high marks in school does not allow them to learn the purpose of education. In fact, the main reason of education is that gaining essential knowledge to work in favour filed in future, so the education is beneficial for the person. However, if parents give encourage their children financially, their children may learn that study for their parents. In other words, they will not learn that education achievements are not limited to parents gift and it has further benefit for them. Therefore, this method of encouraging misleads the children from the educational success in long term.

This method of encouraging has negative effects on children personality. Indeed, parents increase the tendency of their children to getting higher scores without considering their talent, so this action increases cheating tendency in the children. In other words, the prize that parents that have been chosen by parents are tempting, so it can lead students to cheat for getting higher scores to receive the prize. As we know, cheating has a lot of disadvantage on children personalities. Most of the psychologist has known cheating as a first step of facing with danger for children, since these students learn that they can do forbidden behaviour secretly. Therefore, this step increases the chance of doing more forbidden action by the cheater students. In sum, this behavior disadvantage is not comparable with the small advantage that parents can see in their children grads.

To put it into a nutshell, I strongly agree that parents should not give their children financial prize for the high score in their school. This action misleads the children from the purpose of studying. Moreover, It has undeniable disadvantage on the children personality. In my opinion, parents should consider their children talents. Engineers and doctors are not the only specialists that the society needs. Parents should lead their children to improve their talents, instead of pushing them to get higher scores in math or physic.