TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The majority of people who are in their early to mid-twenties think that in today’s world, teachers are likely to be more appreciated and valued by society. They support that they are capable to teach their students more effectively than in the past. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should be thought about in a different light. I believe that teachers are likely to be more appreciated and valued by society in the past. This is because students are able to learn a lot of things from the Internet and students’ mind is becoming selfish than in the past.

First of all, as the Internet appeared, students are able to learn a lot of things by themselves. To be specific, students’ respect toward teacher has been decreasing due to the Internet appearance, which as a result allows students to learn a lot of subjects in their school as well as extracurricular subjects. As modern society is becoming increasingly, today’s fast-paced world requires people to have a lot of knowledge beyond from the school. Thus, students are no longer dependent on their teachers and find their ways to learn required matters from the Internet. For example, when I was in elementary school, I could find information from the Internet without the help from teachers. From that time, I started to not ask my teachers any questions what I did not know because the Internet is easy tool to find information and has enormous database from the world. Throughout this experience, today’s teacher were not appreciated and valued by society than in the past. This proves that today’s teachers are likely to not be appreciated and valued by society because of the Internet.

Moreover, in today’s world, many students would not respect their teachers due to declining birth rate in the world. In addition, their parents are likely to care their children severely which allows their children be selfish. Today’s children are allowed to do anything even it is wrong in their parents’ wings which occur severe societal phenomenon. For instance, a study done by the New York Times, it revealed that today’s children are more likely to be selfish than in the past. It was indicated that 62 percent of 200 Korean teachers responded their cruel events from their parents’ overprotection. As a result, today’s teacher could not be appreciated and valued by society because of selfish children under their parents’ protection.

To sum up, I believe that teacher could not be appreciate and valued by society because students are able to learn a lot of things from the internet and their mind is becoming selfish than in the past. All things I have mentioned, it is my belief that my argument regarding this topic has been effectively and precisely delivered with the reasons.