TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are the pillars of the future of the society as they have a significant role in preparing the next generation. To encourage the teachers to perform as their best in classrooms, they must be praised in the society as much as it is possible. Because teaching is a very tiring job and being appreciated emotionally can give this moral to the teachers to do better and better. Germane to this fact, a question that is matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether teachers are being respected like the past or not. Although it might not be accepted by all, I am personally on the belief that the teachers are not valued as they deserve as before.

One compelling reason deserving to be mentioned is that these days, unfortunately, people respect money and someone who is rich. To delineate, in the past people were more interested in moral precepts and they used to appreciate someone who has a great personality and this fact, sadly, has changed due to machine life. It is apparent that nowadays people judge each other based on their assets and properties and money. It is regrettable to declare that in my community, despite the prominent role of teachers in preparing and educating the students, they have one of the low-paid occupations. Consequently, they are not respected as before because they are not too prosperous or wealthy.

Another reason substantiating my stance which is equally important, if not more, is that the children have become so impolite and rude. To elaborate, students deride the teachers in class or even after school which is due to lack of their manners at home. These days, kids are so irresponsible and rude even with their parents, let alone teachers. A vivid example will shed more light on the issue. My father is a teacher and told me a story about how his students were respecting him and paying attention to his lecture when he had become a teacher at his early classes. Then he went to the office and he did not teach for quite a while. This fall he has returned to the school to teach before he retires next year, because he loves teaching and wanted to experience it once more. But he got so disappointed the first night he came back after school. He was so unhappy about that students tried to mock him and insult him with stupid jokes about the teachers. He told me that the students were respecting him much more in the past than these students.

To recapitulate, it is obvious that the teachers were more respected in the previous decades not only by society, but also by their own students. Although some people may not be agreed with that, I, based on my own experiences, claim that teachers must be admired more if we want a better country for the next decades.