TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Industrial society has brought several influences to people’s life, and with them, the way we currently work. As we know, in the past, workers used to do similar tasks during the whole day of work in the industries, tightening screws behind the screws, reflecting standardized mass production, what ended being called Fordism. However, working doing the same thing can be harmful and demotivating, resulting in illnesses like anxiety and depression, as well as the non-improvement of important skills, like group work and creativity. In light of this, this essay will explain why I think workers are more satisfied when they have different types of tasks.

First, as employees, we are constantly trying to do our job in the best way as possible, because being recognized is something that can improve your work and life quality. Doing different types of tasks enable the workers to keep motivated and engaged on their tasks, what would not occur if they only had the same tasks to do every day. When I used to work as a translator, I only translated documents about chemistry, what with the passing time was starting to become unmotivating and repetitive. However, when I started to work as an administrative assistant, I was able to do several tasks, as translation, answer calls, send e-mails to clients, what made me focus way much more on my tasks and, consequently, making less mistakes.

Second, doing one single task results in an unpleasant routine of work, resulting in unhealth behaviors and illnesses, on the other hand, several tasks require workers to move and be active, creating an engaging environment. When my dad used to work in a pharmaceutical company, due to the amount of repetitive movements he had to do, he constantly complained about feeling pain on his shoulder, having to undergo surgery.

As last, when you only have one task, you can miss important things of work’s environment, like know new people or even thing creatively. Making exactly the same thing unable workers know new people, create solutions or even act proactively, since unforeseen event barely occurs. I remember a day that a new colleague was having issues to administer her tasks and I suggested a solution that changed not only the way she was working, but also gave me the opportunity to know her more, what would not happen if we had only one single task to do.

To sum up, these are one of the many reasons why I think workers are more satisfied when they have different of tasks to do during the workday. Despite the fact that several tasks enable workers to develop different types of skills, it can also make the work a pleasant, motivating and healthy activity.