Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Once considered as articles that few people had access to, smartphones have become a vital part of everyone's lives. However, it is known that we are getting in touch with this new technology ever earlier, and it is not hard to see young children with one of those in their hands. This premature contact can be harmful to children’s life, leading them to illnesses, affecting their school performance and also being a dangerous environment for young children. In light of this, this essay will explain why I agree with parents that forbid young children from owing smartphones.

First, in instead of giving smartphones to their children, parents should motivate them for real human interactions and sports practice. This behavior can lead children to illnesses like obesity, anxiety and depression, stimulating laziness and individualism, which will affect them doing their growth. For example, my neighbors have a 4-year-old daughter and since she was born, she has a cellphone to distract her. She has troubles to interact with her classmates and has serious problems of anxiety, result of her parent’s behavior.

Second, if children are given access to these smartphones at school age, it may interfere in them study performance. Since these phones can connect to the Internet, students might get distracted by games and online content. For instance, a student is distracted with the Internet may receive grades that are worse than their usual performance. When I was in my senior year, many of my colleagues didn’t pain attention in class because of excessive smartphone use, which resulted in lower scores, decreasing their chances to go to a good university. If this can affect teenagers, which are more mature, imagine what an excessive use can do with young children.

As last, children don’t have the maturity to distinguish which is true or not. Give a smartphone with internet access to a child is a double-edged weapon. It can keep young children in touch with their parents; however, it can also be a real danger for them if they use it to talk to strangers. We constantly watch in television reports about pedophiles who use fake internet accounts to communicate with children, and these situations continue to occur.

In conclusion, these are one of many reasons why parents should forbid young children from owing smartphones. Although the fact that a smartphone can allow control, it can also be an open door for illnesses, decrease in school performance and threaten the safety of these children. Technology has not only brought good things, we should use it wisely, but it is parent’s responsibility to know what is good or bad for their children.