TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

In contemporary society, due to the extensive schedules of work or study, time is commonly considered as one of the most valuable things. In light of this, free time is something that should be wisely used among people, especially among families, and that’s why I think busy parents should mainly use their time doing fun activities with their children.

Frist, people just want to relax and have pleasant activities after a stressful day. If parents decided to spend their free time with their children’s favorite hobbies, the whole family would be distracted and have a good day. I have a good example to illustrate this. When I was in school, my classes finished at 4 pm on Fridays and until the time I got home, it was almost 6 pm and the day was basically over. So, my dad decided to change his schedule and pick me on school every Friday to do something fun, like go to the park to see the sunset or play volleyball on the beach. With this small change, both of us were having fun and enjoying our time together, which was something that we usually did not have time to do.

Second, family members spend little time together because of their daily duties. As soon as people arrive at home, they barely share with their families how was the day and what happened. The free time should be used between the family members to social interaction and share of daily events. My family members, for example, organized the “Fun Monday”, which is when our whole family gets together before the dinner playing games, talking and having fun, which is something that probably would not happen if my parents mainly use their time helping me with my schoolwork.

As last, children are already overwhelmed with schoolwork when they arrive at home. As mentioned, the free time should be used for relaxing and enjoyable activities. If parents decide to spend time with their children talking about schoolwork, there is a big chance of making them more stressed and unmotivated to study the next day. Alternatively, parents can study with their children on specific days or even weekends, for example. My 10-year-old cousin, for example, used to study every single day after school and started to be stressed and tired, resulting in a decrease of his grades. Hence, his parents decided to study with him only on Wednesdays and Saturdays, so he would not get overloaded with his schoolwork and also have some free time to have fun, which resulted in higher grades.

In conclusion, these are a few of the several reasons why I think that busy parents should mainly use the time with their children for fun activities. Schoolwork is also extremely important for children’s lives, however, it is also important to find a balance.