There is no shortage of debate about the best improvement option a university should implement in order to increase its quality of education. However, in my opinion, there are more effective measures to increase quality of education rather than by raising professors’ salaries. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, a good university is not made only by excellent and well-paid professors. Although professors are one of the main important factors related to the quality of education, there are other points that should be considered. Students common areas can also significantly affect the quality of education, and my own experience demonstrates that this is true. When I was in college, my department did not have an area that students could study or spend time socializing. I had to go to a shopping mall next to my university if I wanted to read or relax with my friends, which ended not being a relaxing activity at all, once the mall was always crowed and noisy. In light of this, me and other students decided to talk to the department coordinator and they created a comfortable lounge for us, which enabled me to spend more time studying on campus, and consequently, my grades started getting even better.

Second, it would be ineffective if the university invest only on professors’ salary but do not provide a motivating and engaging environment for them to teach. Professors also need good work facilities, like well-equipped classrooms, materials, the use of technology, and so students. For example, I remember when my university was facing troubles with the suppliers’ payment and the laboratory did not have enough resources to keep with the anatomy classes. Our professor was one of the best in the country, but he could not teach us anything without masks, gloves and the chirurgical instruments. And things were getting even worse. The x-ray machine from our department broke and our university did not have money to fix it. In the end, the coordinator had to reduce professors’ salary in order to put the university on track again.

In conclusion, these are few of the many reasons why I think universities should not invest their money on professors’ salaries in order to improve the quality of education. An education of good quality is made of several other things, such as improvements on campus as well as the provision of resources, which results in a good environment for those who need the most, students.