TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that people have a lot of discussions or meetings with other people to discuss their tasks properly. In these meetings, the teacher or the meeting leader sometimes says something wrong about the issue they are talking about. The question is whether we should point out the mistake in their words for them or just ignore it as if they haven’t made any mistakes or talk to them about the mistake later. In my opinion, I prefer to talk to the teacher or the meeting leader when the meeting is over.

Firstly, it is obvious that if I just talk with the teacher when we are alone, we won’t feel so embarrassed. Many people think that we have to correct the mistake immediately when the leader makes it because if they don’t do so, there will be an error in the final plan of the team, which leads to lower productivity of the team. Also, they think that in these meetings, people need to try their best to perfect their plans, so correcting others’ mistakes is normal. However, I think that if we point out their mistakes right away before many people, the leaders will feel more embarrassed before their team members, which makes the situation in the meetings become more awkward. Also, if we do so, the relationship between the leader and us becomes worse. Thus, I think that if we want to say something with the leaders about their mistakes, just talk to them about the mistakes after the meetings.

Secondly, some people prefer to say nothing about the mistakes the leaders make in the meetings. They think that it is unnecessary to speak out about the mistakes as they are just small mistakes. Others are afraid of the leaders and so they just disregard the mistakes. Nevertheless, I think that we need to say something about the mistakes instead of keeping them silent. When people meet face-to-face to discuss something, they expect they can make the best decision for their plans by collecting all opinions and ideas of others. If people don’t give any ideas about the issue or they realise some mistakes in others’ words but just ignore them, these meetings don’t have any help in achieving the best result for the teams. Meanwhile, when we talk about the mistakes to the leaders, the leaders will realise their mistakes. Maybe, the leaders can speak out their mistakes by themselves in the next meetings, so everyone can figure them out and discuss the task more carefully.

In conclusion, I prefer to talk to the leaders about the mistakes they make when the meeting is over. If I do so, the leaders won’t be so embarrassed before many people and still realise their mistakes, which helps maintain high productivity in the task, which other two activities can’t result in.