TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

People react differently when they face somebody who has another opinion and seems incorrect in their view. Although some people try to talk about the mistaken issue right away after that, some others wait until the end of discussion and then go through it. Another group of people think it's impolite and don't say anything at all. It's been a question for me from long ago, that which option is better, and now after a lot of thinking, I've come to this issue, that it's better to correct the mistake as soon as we come to doubt. Now, in the following article, I try to vindicate my standpoint.

To begin with, I think an incorrect statement may lead to further mistakes and we’d better correct it as soon as possible to prevent exponential mistakes. It has happened a lot to me and other people, that a very small mistake has led to other mistakes that were considerable in comparison to the first small one. However, correcting the mistake in the early stage, makes other things on further steps easier. As a personal experience, last week in a classroom, the professor was solving a mathematical problem as an example. Coming to the end, we found the answer can't be correct. Finally, we found that at the beginning we made a small mistake that made the final answer wrong. Detecting the problem sooner, wouldn't lead to a wrong answer. Although one of the students claimed that he wanted to discuss the mistake at the end of the class not to interrupt the professor, it didn’t help. In such situations, we come to the importance of correcting the mistake at the beginning of it, as soon as possible, since at the end it might not be useful enough.

In addition, sometimes it happens that the issue is not correct, yet discussing with another person, we found we didn't get the point earlier and this was why we thought it was incorrect. In classrooms especially, it happens many times. Students don't understand something correctly, and in consequence, they won't understand the whole other things discussed. And here, we come to the importance of questioning the mistake. Yet, some students don't say anything maybe due to shyness or because they think it's impolite. For example, when studying in high school, I understood something wrongly and I thought teacher is making mistake in further steps. Thus, I asked for explanation. Although I found that I mad mistake and she was right, I found that it was me learning the material wrongly.

To make the long story short, correcting a mistake that might seem incorrect in our opinion, is not equal to be impolite or rude. It just helps preventing further mistakes if it was really wrong, or corrects our own thoughts if it wasn't correct. Therefore, I suggest all students to ask their questions without being shy.