TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friends' roll in human kind life is undeniable, since it is an indispencible part of our life to communicate with others. However, people are of two types: some people would rather have fewer friends, and another group prefer to widen their friendship circle and have lots of friends. This issue was a great concern to me when I was teenager, and now I have come to this issue that I think the ability to keep my friendship with a small number but for a long time is essential and makes me happy.

To begin with, it is urgent to learn how to treat with other people, so that you would be able to maintain your relationship with them. Not knowing how to keep our friends, how can we be able to make new friends? Even if a person does find new friends, but does not treat them well, that new friendship would not last long enough, and with a very bad feeling, that person must look for another new relationship.

In addition, I prefer to maintain my older friendship, due to the notion that older friends would do more for us in difficult situations. As a matter of fact, I suppose in difficult situation when a problem comes up, a new friend would not do a lot, since he/she might not know a lot about us. However, an older friend has been in different situations in our lives. And a friend in need, is a friend indeed!

Last but not the least, I believe having a smaller number of friends, we can allocate more time to them. On the other hand, having lots of friends, one might not be able to dedicate enough time to get to know the new friends. It is by spending enough time with our friends that we come to get more and more closer. With small number of close and good friends forever, one certainly will have great happiness in life.

To wrap it up, the ability to make new friends is critical, however we should be able to maintain our relationship with them too. Comparing these two abilities, keeping our friends is much more beneficial in our life, since not having this ability, each time of giving end to a friendship might hurt our feelings. Moreover, as a personal experience, it is our older friends staying in arduous events of our life, helping us to survive and return to the happy life. Finally, spending more time with fewer people leads to a closer relationship with a life filled with joy and happiness.