TPO 49- Independent writing

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, friends are of great importance because if you live lonely, you would be very upset and the world become very sad to continue living in it. On of the most controversial question regarding this point is if maintaining friendship with a small group of people for a long time would bring happiness or making new friends easily is more essential to live a happy life. In my perspective, finding many new friends every time can give more joy for few reasons which I will elaborate more.

First, making new friends broaden your connection with a wider range of people. Nowadays, it is crucial to have a good career that earns you a lot of money. Some of the jobs are related to having connection with people and every time that you meet a new person, you can receive more money from adding him/her to your social zone and more money means more happiness in your life. For example, in the job of network marketing, the most basic need to flourish in that work is to have more member in your group, so you can sell more product to a larger number of people.

Furthermore, new friends can tell you more fun stories. Whenever a new person talks to you, the person would retell or talk about something about his perivous knowledge on a subject or an experience he had in past. The new stories that you hear can be very interesting because you may have never heard something like that before, and you can retell the same event to other people to look like a fun person that have a lot of experience. This adds up to your prestige and position in society.

Finally, being friend with someone for a long period of time can be exhusting. Imagine you see the same guy over and over for years in every weekend. Eventually, you get tired of the repeatition and you seek a new face to talk to. It doesn't matter if the person is your close friend or not, you hate every action he or she does because you both have witnessed or talked about every matter long time ago. According to a survey conducted in our school, most of the fights in the school happen amoung those people who have been friend more than three years. It is very rare that a relation between two person persists untill the end of highschool.

To wrap it up, based on what was mentioned before, in search of happiness, I highly recommend to make new friends in order to earn more money through your connections. This action not only opens a new storage of new stories and experience but also prevents you from fighting with your old fellows.