TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Life can go very hard without the companionship of friends. It is approved that being lonely is more dangerous to one's health than smoking. While being social beings, not all people have the same level of ability to make new friends. There are even different attitudes in people towards social life. Some make new friends once in a blue moon, but ones that are there for life, while others might not dive that deep into the relationship with every one and prefer knowing a lot of people, even shallowly. For many reasons including personal ones, I am inclined to believe that having quite a few real and close friends kindles more joy in life. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, I think we all have experienced feeling lonely, while surrounded by people. I believe that in the matter of friendship, quality ways much more than quantity. Meeting with a lot of people who won’t deeply understand you, is not as satisfying as having a few friends that you can share your whole true self with. Speaking of my own experience, I am in a group of friends that has lasted for over five eight years. We have laughed, cried, and actually grown up together. We were together in high-school, and then we became separated entering the college, while staying in touch as much as possible. We all have found new friends and are close to them too, but we have all admitted that there is no other place warmer and more friendlier than our very own group.

Secondly, I think the time factor is really important in developing trust in a relationship. One can never be confident to know other people’s thoughts, but as two people spend much more time together, it becomes impossible for them to have secrets from each other or hide anything. Given the right amount of time, every little pet-peeve is to be enclosed. This works both ways, and you can be much more comfortably yourself, in front of an old friend, since they know inside and out. There is not going to be any hiding, and its quite liberating.

To wrap it up, I do strongly believe that maintaining friendship with smaller number of people brings about more happiness than finding new ones often, due to my own experience of such small and long lasting group and the acceptance and the closeness it contains, and the fact that time plays an important role in developing trust in a relationship, and well who is a friend who can not be trusted.