Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students, specifically young one, spend a significant amount of their days at schools, educating. Since the leaders of every nation are to grow from the very schools, what youngsters learn there and how is of crucial importance to the society. While some measure knowledgeability, by the number of the fact one knows, I am inclined to believe that it is more important for them to understand ideas and concepts. I will elaborate on my perspective in what follows.

Firstly, It goes without saying that only memorizing a number of facts is never useful. On the contrary, an erudite person must be able to reason, argue, and draw an inference from the evidence. A personal experience of mine gives credence to this issue. A group of my friends and I studied for mathematical olympiads back in high-school. We learned different concepts and theories and practiced proving them. Also, we would spend hours trying to solve problems. When I entered the university, I understood the power of problem-solving that I had gained through these years of practice. While facing a challenging problem I have never seen before, I acted more confident, and finally, I was even more successful than my fellow students. I could have spent that time in the past learning a lot of facts about various subjects, though, it would not have helped me as such.

secondly, by the advance of technology every piece of information is but seconds ahead of us. Facts need not be memorized anymore, because everything can be approached through the internet. The pace of life has grown so rapidly that it does not seems reasonable for one to waste their precious time on memorizing. For example, learning mathematics becomes really important for students, even if they grow to follow various paths in the future, ones without the direct use of maths. Mathematics is where understanding concepts can be observed at its finest. The hypothesizing mindset which is reached by mathematics is undeniable.

In conclusion, by taking the above into account, I strongly maintain that learning concepts and speculation is far better for a young person. It is highly recommended for schools to consider this while carrying out their curriculum. As the Persian expression says, It is better to teach one fishing instead of providing them with fish.