Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by students) and effective in helping students to learn.

Unlike most other things, methods of teaching and class management have not changed for centuries, and the teacher still plays a key role. Thus, being effective in helping students to learn and being popular at the same time, is a burden that falls on their shoulders. Although some may believe that being liked by students is not a feasible quality in teaching while being effective, I personally am inclined to believe that being popularity and effectiveness usually happen concurrently. I will elaborate on my perspective in what follows.

Firstly, every student would try to look good in the eyes of the teacher who is important for him or her. When a student likes a teacher, he or she may be encouraged to work harder in order to improve his or her grades, for the sake of being liked back, or even making the teacher content. A personal experience of mine gives credence to this issue. In my junior high school, two different classes taught the same math course with a matching material, with different teachers. One of them was so nice and kind that everyone just loved her. She would take the time to chat with every single one of the students. On the contrary, the other one was rarely seen having a conversation with anyone. She was so cold and repelling that most of the students were scared of her. In the end, the first class studied way harder and gained a much better average than the former, because her students did not want to let her down. So as a teacher, being nice can increase the effectiveness.

Moreover, while presenting a material, having good body language, voice intonation, and generally better communication skills are important. These mentioned factors can usually be observed in popular teachers. More precisely, practically these are the traits that make them more popular. In turn, the efficiency of students learning will significantly improve; not only because they would be more concentrated and mentally present in the class, but also because the material is being presented better. This kind of teacher will make it easier for the students to understand what he or she means to present.

By taking into account the above, I strongly maintain that being effectiveness and popularity are coherent if followed by some other qualities. It is highly advised to the teacher’s community to maintain a meaningful relationship with their students while being educated and concentrating on the material.