Do you agree or disagree?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by students) and effective in helping students in learning.

People attitudes toward teachers' performance and their approaches and effective methods of education are varied from person to person. Some are inclined toward the opinion that it is simple for teachers to be both popular and effective in helping students in learning, on the other extreme of the rope, others hold exactly the opposite perspective and believe that it is challenging for teachers to be strict and attractive for students in education areas and helping them simultaneously. While both sides take their own positions, from my vantage point, the first group carries more weight. To be more specific, I will explain my reasons and notions in the following paragraph.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with the issue that, the more careful to students, the better grades they can receive, and the more popularity teachers can have. In other words, the relationship between students and teachers plays a large role in the trajectory of a students’ academic success and social development. Establishing a positive relationship with their teacher helps students feel more comfortable and safe in their classroom environments. Actually, not only is there no contradiction between being popular and effective in helping students in learning, but also, these two essential factors will overlap and empower each other. For example, some sociologists did empirical researches about various education approaches all around the world and finally found out that the best and most popular teachers try to develop and improve their education methods by considering some factors that are very important for students such as effective teaching and making a humorous and lovely atmosphere in class. Therefore, if teachers don't well informed of their students’ lifestyles, habits and attitudes, they will be obscure when they communicate with students.

Second, if teachers are instructive, compassionate, and humorous, students will be more successful in the near future. In fact, if students will be under too much pressure and stress, a humorous, kind, and receptive teacher can reduce their stress and anxiety and attract their attention and stimulate their interests in classes. For instance, the impressive results and overwhelming evidence of descriptive and inferential statistical analysis in a university indicate that high school teachers who are careful and strict about students’ behavior and approach and also try to teach them various material properly and efficiently are more attractive and popular for students than other teachers. Consequently, students study and behave well in the class taught by the teacher they loved.

On the other hand, some people believe that high school teachers have to be strict about their students because students are not mature enough to concentrate on their life and duties. If teachers are not strict and careful about students' life particularly their education, students will not pay attention to their duties and homework effectively; therefore, many teachers will lose their reputation and families will accuse teachers because of students poor performance.

To sum up, based on the all argumentations stated above, the student/teacher relationship is a cornerstone in a student’s social maturation process. The high levels of teacher engagement have a positive effect on students’ engagement levels and performance and eventually more popularity teachers can have. Moreover, characteristic of teachers is a very important and crucial factor for students. As a result, popular teachers know that it is not difficult to be strict, meticulous, and compassionate.