Do you agree or disagree: It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends?

Our friends have become an inherent part of our daily life so much so that being always honest and keeping a healthy relationship with them can be very difficult in today's world. Some are inclined towards the opinion that you should be always honest with your friends about all the issues. On the other extreme of the rope, others think that divulging truth is prohibited by laws and social ethics. While both sides take their own positions, personally speaking, I definitely believe that the second group carries more weight. In the following paragraph, I will explain the most outstanding of my reasons.

As the first and paramount reason, everybody has several private problems and personal secrets in his/her life that can't explain for others. To be more specific, according to confidentiality regulations, the secrets of any relationship shouldn't be revealed for others even close friends. Take a couple that they have a bad argument with each other and work in a factory. If they talk about their personal problems with their colleagues, they will destroy their relationship. Hence, although being not honest with your friends is abnormal social behavior, but avoiding to express private issues for your friends is completely acceptable behavior.

The second reason coming to my mind to substantiate my viewpoint is, being completely honest with your friends might annoy them and ruin their confidence; thus, it has negative influences on their performances. In other words, sometimes you should tell a lie to your friend in order to attract him/her or improve his/her efficiency. My own experience is a compelling example to illustrate this. About two years ago, when I was in university, one of my friends who studied psychology, asked me to evaluate his presentation about his thesis just before the public conference. Not only didn't I criticize his inappropriate explanation and inaccurate approach, but also I confirmed his performance and encouraged him to present and explain his points of view properly and efficiently and without any stress. Therefore, sometimes you have to tell a noble lie to motivate your friend to achieve impressive results.