Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

With the advancement of technology and the ease of communication it brings about, we nowadays find ourselves under the bombardment of news from around the globe. The news broadcasters compete to spread the firsthand reports they have. Sadly, most of the things that are happening are not positive and with all this negativity, one may find it more convenient to just ignore all of it and live his or her life. But I am personally inclined to believe that being aware is of great importance, for some reasons on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the knowledge of things that are happening around the world, can even subconsciously affect the decisions that a person make, in a way that can help resolve them. For example, the more the people are aware of the extreme poverty and lack of food in some countries, the more of them would happen to have abilities that can help raise fund and equipment in order to help resolve this situation, finally making it more likely to have a group of people that would actually take action and help resolve this. If no one were to pay attention to bad things that are happening around the globe, it would be impossible to raise awareness and make the world a better place. You have to pay attention, because sometimes you are the only person that can do something about it, and it is your mission in life.

Secondly, history always repeats itself. Everything the people of a society are going through is most probably experienced by other nations before. There are a lot of lessons to be learned, in term of decisions that the nations are making, and the way that they are responding to the big or small crisis which they are facing. The more a nation or society is aware, the better decisions they are capable of making in the face of hardships. So when one starts to think globally, instead of locally and personally, awareness and attention to surrounding become additionally important, as personal lives are affected.

To wrap it up, I believe that it is, of course, better to be aware of the news, because sometimes we may be able to actively take part in some of it and take significant action, and we can learn from other nation's experiences for good.