Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It's a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration.

Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

It has always been the humanity’s dream to observe the space. Since long ago, so many people have looked up in the sky and wondered about it. That is the reason why along with the advances in technology, most of the developed countries have decided to invest their budget in space-related programs. Though some can wonder if this is just a childish chase of dream and a waste, I believe that these researches significantly affect our lives.

Traveling in space involves numerous aspects, comprising a vast research area. To make space traveling at all possible, new frontiers of science had to be discovered. In many cases, these discoveries caused many improvements. For example, telecommunication is a necessary part of any space travel. Whether there is a passenger or not, the spaceship needs to be able to be controlled from earth. Most of the telecommunication means used commercially today, like mobile phones, are a result of researches conducted for space programs in the past. In addition, there have been many innovations too. For example, the first practical outcomes of these researches were the technology of satellites, which play an important role in long distance communications. Satellites also are state of the art, in terms of coverage area. So although these effects may not be obvious to the community, they cannot be denied.

Our planet is always threatened by natural disasters. For instance, in the past few years, giant hurricane formations were determined, before they actually hit. As a result, people had sufficient time to become prepared, and even in some cases evacuate the area. As such, a catastrophic loss of thousands of lives was prevented. As another example, Imagine an asteroid was heading towards earth. With state of the art technology, its course and collision time and place could be measured months in advance, Which is enough time for scientists and engineers to build a and launch a device diversifying its course. Therefore, we may not be extinct by an asteroid hit, as Dinosaur did 65000 years ago. Thus, the technology available today can help save so many lives.

In conclusion, by taking account the above, I strongly believe that the funding of space traveling or exploration programs is necessary. Because of the way it is affecting the advancement of science, that affects our lives directly. More importantly, because tools available today can help us prevent or anticipate disaster before they take place.