Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It’s a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration.

Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

In today’s turbulent economic situation, governments should specify their targeted funding areas cautiously. Throughout history, the space science and astronomy have always been compelling to mankind. Therefore, some people believe that it is one of the government duties to fund space flights and explorations, but I am convinced that it is not an irrational target for governmental funding. Because nowadays environmental issues are the most leading tragedy requiring more financial sources. Furthermore, only a limited population are under the influence of the space science.

First, there are plenty of environmental issues requiring a large amount of governmental fund to be diminished. Today, the most worrying environmental issue is the global warming that has a drastic impact on water supplies, weather pattern, plants, and animal species. To reduce the rate of this inevitable catastrophe, utilization of the renewable energies with a low carbon footprint should be considered necessary. For example, solar and wind energy, as two well known renewable energies, can be employed locally, but the individuals are not willing to pay the high installation costs of the solar panels and wind turbines. Therefore, governments should fund these costs to replace fossil fuel based energies with these low carbon energies. Another significant environmental issue is the garbage problem; every day landfills become larger and larger devouring our planet. To reduce the rate of this accumulation, governments should allocate a large budget not only to recycle plastics, papers, and glasses but also to encourage people to reuse their garbage which is restained by a majority of people. That is, the environmental issues have priority over the space science development.

Secondly, because the space science has a limited impact spectrum, it is preferred that aerospace agencies provide their budget with private funding. Today, private funding with its various subsets is welcomed by a large number of activities. Aerospace agencies could supply themselves with commercial revenue. For instance, the website of the NASA has a commercial space section introducing its various commercial programs and partners. Besides, since space explorations and travels are such attractive subjects for many of people, these agencies could benefit from crowdfunding being a practice of funding a project by receiving a small amount of money from a large number of crowd. Related organizations could use popular social media like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter to launch a campaign to earn money through crowdfunding. Accordingly, there are lots of other funding sources for these organizations instead of a governmental one.

All in all, it does not seem acceptable to allocate a proportion of the limited public budget to such extravagant space explorations and travels because this attractive industry can easily invite other private funding sources and environmental issues are more significant funding targets for the governments. If we can not rescue the Earth maybe one day we will have to leave our home and to find another planet to live!