which one is the most important factor to help you work productivity?

- having an environment which is free of noise and distractions

- knowing that you will receive a reward

- doing something you are interested in

In today’s competitive job market, it is important to have employability skills, the general skills needed to fit every job. Productivity is one of the key employability skills measuring the efficiency of a person completing a specific task. There are many factors affecting productivity like focusing on the task without any distractors, expecting rewards, being willing, scheduling, defining specified goals, etc. Although all of these traits are parts of the productivity cycle, I would argue that the most important component of this cycle is being interested in that work.

First off, when one love to do a task, this leads to a highly productive outcome in different ways. Creativity is the key to productivity; a creative individual can find the best and shortest way to reach a goal demonstrating the basic definition of productivity. And one cannot be creative in a field unless he is interested in that field; interest makes people work above their duty. If one love to do a work, he will be enthused in hard work. Personally speaking, when I like a project, I do my best to get on a top notch, work out of the timework, and keep up with thinking about that even after work. But, when I do not really like a project, I merely try to do my duties and finish the work. Apart from that, in case one has affection for doing something, nothing can interrupt him. In order to be productive, procrastination is a prevalent barrier. When an individual is reluctant to do a task, all other surrounding things become attractive, coworkers, cellphone, social media, etc. That is, how important is being interested in the undertaking task so as to be productive.

Secondly, although interruptions are corresponded to drop in productivity, indisputably there is no workplace free of noises and distractors and it is a big challenge to make such a place for his employees. According to a survey conducted by the Department of Economy of the Oxford University in among 1000 employees in 2017, only 20 percents of them claim that environmental distraction is a disturbing issue form them. Moreover, a muted soundless workspace could be monotonous and boring in long-term dropping in both productivity and creativity. That is why removing external distractions cannot be the major step to increase productivity.

Furthermore, though expecting a reward can be a motivation for hard work, it cannot be the driving force for productivity. All the employees receive a salary and it seems that monetary incentive is indeed a reason for competition among them. A productive employee receives respect because of his excellent performance as a non-monetary valuable incentive. Being interested in what one does is the biggest intrinsic reward to him. There are many people with high incomes who do not love their works and continue their lassitude, which would not result in productivity.

All in all, it is important to bear in mind that productivity is the result of an interconnected chain of factors and I think that the first ring of this chain is being interested in what we do. Working in an interesting career in a lively interactional respectful workplace could be the ideal environment to work productivity. Hence, individuals should select a career which they are keen on doing that then follow the other steps to be productive.