Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships.

Human is a social animal and friendships are vital to his mental health, happiness, and well-being. It is, therefore, essential to make good friends and try to keep them. On the other hand, in today’s world of competition, sometimes friends might become rivals for each other. While some believe that this situation can be harmful to the quality of this relationship, others, as do I, disagree with this belief. Because rivalry between friends does not mean enmity also they can help each other to succeed because of knowing each other pretty well.

Firstly, competition is not equal to be jealous of the opponent’s success and want to try to harm others. Healthy competition can help individuals to thrive themselves and go toward the final aim. In this respect, one should play fair as well as respect other competitors. If people try to use the simple rules of the healthy way, they never will come up with conflicts, especially in case of competing with their companions. Thus, the phrase “Winning is not everything” is an essential lesson for life and when friends take this lesson, they will value the healthy competition and their friend's achievement.

Furthermore, friends can be one another’s best instructors. They are aware of both each person’s capabilities and rules of the game and are thereby able to help each other to thrive and surpass their old selves. In this respect, I can recall my own experience when I and my best friends attended in a national gymnastic match five years ago. During our practice, we were under pressure and we did not have a coach and we should get ready by ourselves. But we never disappointed about this because each of us was the other’s instructor having the best wishes for each other. Finally, she got the first place and I got the second one. After that our relationship became even closer. Had we not help each other, we could not have become successful in that match. This has learned me that when individuals help each other, everybody wins.

Thus, with the above in mind, in case of healthy competition, friendships would not be worse affected. And friends can help themselves achieve success, leading to a close-knit friendship.