Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships

In our lives, we have a lot of competition. For example, exams, college, employment, marriage etc. Competitors will change every time, but we can even compete with our friends. I think the competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships. This is not only a problem to fight, but also you could lose friends. Therefore, I think there is no good competition in the world. I will tell you two reasons to support my opinion.

First, when we compete, we become sensitive. Therefore, we pay more attention to things than usual and stick to small things. Also, we can become selfish. It can break the friendship with a friend. For example, I had four close friends in 7th grade. The team was divided into two teams in a soccer game in P.E. with my friends. We could not control our emotions during the game and got into fights for small things. In the end, we made up with tears, but we should be careful about the competition between friends.

Second, in a really important competition, people become selfish. For example, the university that you and your friend want to go, in this case no matter how friendly your friend, you will become selfish and sensitive. Therefore, many students lose their friends in high school and the reason why the first and second grades are not close in Korea is because of competition.

I think it is really bad to compete with a friend. If it is really inevitable, it would be nice to accept the situation, control your emotions and also think that you help each other instead of competing with that friend.