Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today many people are seeking the keys to success. One of these keys is risk-taking and trying to be innovative instead of following the old fashions. I agree with this opinion and I would argue that risk-taking can lead individuals to be successful by improving their personal traits and providing many benefits in their professions.

First of all, risk-taking can help people to improve different positive characteristics, one of which is self-confidence. confidence comes from encountering with a challenging situation. When an individual try doing things beyond one’s capabilities, one steps outside of one’s comfort zone which would be the foundations of a higher self-confidence. In a survey, conducted by the researchers in the department of the business management of the University of Toronto in 2016, 100 entrepreneurs and 120 top managers were asked to answer a round of questions, demonstrating their level of self-confidence, and rate how sure they were about their responses. The results show that although both groups were very confident, the entrepreneurs, constantly involving in trying new things, had a considerably higher level of confidence. Another personal attribute which can be promoted by trying new things is creativity. Creativity, which is about imagination and invention original and new ideas and paths, cannot be achieved unless one thinks out of the box and try to do new things or do old things in a new fashion. This is not an inborn characteristic and one should embrace the risk of failure and initial resistant of others and think in another way to generate novel ideas. Therefore, the first step to becoming creative is taking the risks of pursuing new ways and ideas.

Secondly, individuals can benefit from risk-taking in their professions. Unforeseen opportunities usually come from risk-taking. If one does all the things as previous and as others, one will get to the previous and others’ outcomes. Unsatisfied with the current situation, many entrepreneurs try to introduce new ways of solving problems. In our age of digital transformation, there are a plethora of examples of online startups that change and ease our life such as Uber, Amazon, Dropbox and many other the like which all are the consequents of the innovative ideas of their founders. If they had not taken the risk of what they did, the world would not have undergone the changes we know today. Furthermore, taking risk is a great opportunity for a person to stand out as a pioneer, not a follower satisfied with the status quo. In this way, one will face less competition, while in case of being risk-averse and doing the regular professions, one should compete with other rivals.

Thus, with the above in mind, successful people often try to take the risk of trying new things and risk-taking is one of the cardinal steps to success by providing people with personal and professional benefits. Taking risk not only lets individuals further their self-confidence and creativity but also helps them innovate new opportunities with less competition.