Watch movie before reading the book

Nowadays, a major numbers of movies and series are based on books and novels. While some people prefer to watch the movie before reading the book, I would rather to read the book first then watch its film adaptation.

To begin with, books can fire the imagination engine of their readers. The reader can imagine the setting, the charachters, and their emotional expressions. Reading a book is a unique experience to live the lives of others and build new worlds in mind. In fact, the reader is the director of her personal interpretation of the book. Whatching the movie before reading the book, the person loses the opportunity of embracing such an experience. The scenes are visualized and the charachters are linked to actors or actresses. These pictures sticks to the audience's mind. As a result, when that person starts to read the book, unintentionally, uses the craved images to make connection with the book. Moreover, often some derivative workd fail to make the visualization properly. Take the example of Alic in Wonderland, a well-known book we all read in our teen ages, none of the cartoons and movies made based on it was successful.

To add, reading a book is a time-consuming activity. People should put time, efforr, and a clear mind to absorb the content of the book sentence by sentence to figure out what will happen at the end. No one read a novel in one take; sometimes, it might take several month to finish it. The movie, however, can be watched in less than a couple of hours. Once, the audience understand the whole story and its ending, she might be uninterested to bother herself to read the book. Four years ago, I borrowed a book from my friend:"the Girl on the Train." I was so busy and I could not find the time to read the book in three months. In a weekend, I accidentally saw the trailer of a movie based on the book with the same title on YouTube, and I watch it. So I understood its ending and returned the book without reading it.

To conclude, personally I do not prefer watching a film adaptation of a novel before reading the original book, it would hurt the experience of imagining the story. Moreover, it might make the audience lazy or disappointed to read the book.