Do you prefer to watch movies and shows that were filmed in your own country, or movies and shows that were filmed abroad?

These days, there are many streaming services that offer movies that are filmed domestically, or one can choose a movie that is filmed abroad. There are definitely people who prefer to watch movies that are filmed overseas, because they can learn more about another culture. However, I personally prefer films and TV that were filmed in my own country.

To begin with, I can make a stronger emotional connection with movies and TV shows that are filmed in my country. It’s difficult to feel emotions about people who are thousands of miles away. For example, I recently watched the TV series, “Squid Game.” This show was set in Korea, and all the actors were Korean. Although the show was scary and there were very upsetting moments, I did not feel very emotional because it was thousands of miles across the ocean. In contrast, my husband and I watched “The Sopranos” which was a show set in New Jersey. There were times during this show when I cried and laughed, because the people were American so I understood them much more clearly. Thus, I personally I react more strongly to American series.

What is more, I can follow and understand the content of the movie better if it is in English. When I watch foreign movies, I have to read subtitles, which is annoying. For instance, there is a series called “Tokyo Vice” that is set in Japan. This is a show about gang violence in Japan. I started to watch it, but eventually I became frustrated with the subtitles and I changed the channel to an American show called “New York Vice Squad.” Although the plots were very similar, I enjoyed the American version much better because I could follow all the events, as the characters were speaking in English. Since I do not like reading subtitles, I prefer to watch shows that are set in the United States.

In conclusion, I personally prefer to watch films and movies that are set within my country. This is because not only do I feel more connected to the characters, but also because I do not have to bother reading subtitles.