Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It’s a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration.

Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

For the last decades, man has been trying to explore the secrets of the universe more and more. Most ordinary people wonder whether allocating some budget to support space exploration and space travel by governments is a wise job or not. In my opinion, lots of other important problems are available in our societies that governments should consider them as their priorities rather than funding space exploration. From all of those critical problems in societies, I want to mention poverty and improper medical facilities in the following paragraphs.

First of all, when a lot of people have challenges to provide their daily needs, spending such huge money on space exploration is wastefulness. Not only in developing countries but also in developed ones, lots of people still suffer from poverty. Thereby, it’s normal that they don’t care about space subjects. For example, consider a country having a lot of poor people. Because the money of the country belongs to everyone, poor people expect to get some help from the government. Rather, the country spends a lot on a space project, launching a new spacecraft into space. Consequently, poor people will get angry with the government because it has neglected them and their serious problems. As a result, they may revolt and destroy public facilities and create a lot of costs for the government. Hence, I think that helping poor people to provide their critical needs is more important rather than spending money on space exploration.

As the second reason, knowing about the space through more researches and spending more money would be an irrational job if there are not enough medical facilities for people in society. All the people of society deserve to be healthy. Although a basic need, it may be affected negatively by spending more on other unnecessary things such as exploring and traveling to space. For instance, I remember when my mom was ill, doctors told us that they can not cure her because they don’t have one of the necessary instruments for her operation. In fact, the cost of importing that instrument from another country was too high. One day, when I was crying for my mom’s bad condition, I heard in the news that the government had funded a project for traveling to space. Consequently, I got angry with the government so much. Had the government spent just a little portion of that money to import medical facilities, my mom would have healed in turn. Instead, a lot of money was wasted for an unnecessary thing. Hence, I think, providing the medical facilities to guarantee people’s health is much more important rather than spending money on space researches.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that hardly can all people of society be happy about the new exploration in space while they suffer from more important things in their life. Therefore, I believe that governments should allocate their money to solve the daily problems of people at first.