Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People should take time to relax with hobbies or physical activities that are very different from what they do at work.

For the last decades, people have been working most of their time in a day. Thereby, most people wonder whether doing similar activities and hobbies in their little free time after work can bring enough enjoyment for them or not. In my opinion, you should do totally different activities from things that you do at work in your leisure time. It’s because doing hobbies similar with your job is boring and moreover, you will get acquainted with new and different people if you do different activities from your job in your free time. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, doing hobbies and activities that are different from your tasks at work will provide you with the opportunity to experience a different atmosphere and consequently, it will not be boring for you. For example, my dad is a mathematics teacher. I remember, once, we were playing a mathematical indoor game when he arrived home. We invited him to join us. He accepted. However, after a couple of turns, he felt bored because the game was like things that he had been teaching whole of the day. As I found out, I recommended another game that was based on creating words with correct spelling. During the other game, my dad was more active, energetic, and enthusiastic to continue playing. I am sure that If we had continued the first game, my dad would have remained bored. Hence, I suggest doing hobbies different from your job’s tasks to avoid becoming bored.

Second, doing different hobbies require going to different places and spending time with different people. Therefore, it will give you a good chance to get acquainted with new and different people. For example, consider a professional football player. If he wants to spend his leisure time with similar activities related to his career, he should play football with people who are the same as his teammates. As a result, his social interaction will remain the same as before. On the contrary, should he spend his free time to do a different activity such as playing golf, he will meet different people and consequently, he can extend his social interactions with those different people. Thus, I believe that relaxing with hobbies and activities that they are different from your job can lead you to more diverse friendships.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that why I believe that doing things in your pastime that they are different from your career is better than doing similar ones.