Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, governments should allocate more budget to support artworks rather than other things. It is because the art of a country can represent the features of that country much better than any other thing. Additionally, artworks can provide people with calm and pleasure. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, the most practical way to demonstrate the features of a society is its artworks. Artworks stem from specific things such as the culture, the history and the religion of a society. Thereby, artworks can represent those qualities in an attracting way to other communities. For example, in an Islamic country, such as Iran, their history, culture, and religion are summarised in their mosques design with specific painting on walls and specific calligraphies. It is a very attractive way to demonstrate the specific qualities of their country to other countries. The evidence for other communities’ attraction to these kinds of artwork is proven through their numerous visits from those mosques. Thus, artworks in every country can be a good way to communicate with other countries to show the properties of a country; thereby, governments should spend more money to develop it.

Second, ordinary people can feel relaxed and calm down by helping with artworks. Indeed, they can relieve their stress by listening to a piece of music or going to a painting exhibition and make free their minds by watching those beautiful paintings. I remember once, I had a rough day at work. As a result, when I arrived home, I was so nervous; thus, I cannot focus on anything to do. I found my iPad and listened to a piece of classical music for a couple of minutes. Gradually, that piece of music gave me a good feeling and helped me to relieve all of the tension of my mind. I felt so relaxed after listening more and actually, I forgot the difficulty of that day. Hence, I think that artworks can help people to relax and calm down after a rough day; therefore, more money should spend on developing it by governments.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that artworks are so important for a community and its people too; thus, the government should allocate more money to support it.