Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit?

۱٫ To accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community

۲٫Learning to play a sport

۳٫ Learning to play a musical instrument

In my opinion, students should spend their free time to work in a part-time position or volunteer in a community. It’s because they can gain some hands-on experiences related to their study subjects and as a result, learn those subjects better. Moreover, unlike enrolling in a playing sport class or learning a musical instrument, voluntary or part-time work will not cost for them. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, working in a related job to your study field, either a part-time job or voluntary one, can help you to learn more things about your study field. For example, I remember when I was studying in an art school, I had a part-time job as a photographer for a photographic journal. I learned lots of things through my experience there. Indeed, I had a good opportunity to practice every theoretical thing that I was learned in my classes in my practical work. That opportunity provided me with a tangible understanding of every theoretical method; as a result, I could learn more than my classmates about every subject related to photography and consequently, I could gain high scores in those classes. I believe that any other thing couldn’t help me to learn my lessons efficiently as much as that experience do. For example, if I had spent my free time to learn a thing irrelevant to my study, such as a sport or playing a musical instrument, I would never have mastered in some subjects about my study field in that early stage.

For the second reason, students have to spend lots of money on learning how to play a sport or how to play a musical instrument. However, having a part-time job or volunteer in a community not only will not cost for them but also may make money for them. For instance, when I was working as a part-time photographer in the aforementioned journal, I had two other friends that one of them, Sarah, took guitar lessons and another one, Tina, volunteered in a local community to teach drawing to poor children. At the end of that year, when we were talking about our accomplishments in that year, we found out that I had earned $3000 by my part-time job, Tina hadn’t earned any money, and Sarah had spent $2000 to learn that musical instrument. Thus, learning a new thing, such as playing a sport or playing a musical instrument, will cost students a lot. By contrast, they don’t need to spend any money on a voluntary experience in a community to fill their free time. Additionally, they can make a considerable amount of money by working part-time in their free time.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that hardly can any other suggestion bring about such benefits for students. Therefore, I suggest a part-time work or voluntary job in a community for every student who wants to benefit his free time.