TPO-45 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for universities to invest in infrastructure and physical plant than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied. Use specific reasons and examples

Every year the government allocates some funds to universities to improve their facilities and faculties. (there always have been budgets which government allocates to universities to improve their facilities and faculties). This budget is highly important because it helps to improve the rank of university. For this reason, it has been questioned whether it is better to spend this on physical instruments or try to please professors. From my vantage point, the former is far better. In the next paragraphs, I will delve into two reasons to elaborate my standpoint.

Firstly, anarchic, when a set wants to handle a huge number of people, is the first thing comes to mind so it needs enough budget to prevent it. To elaborate on this point, both necessary facilities such as buses to transfer scholars within the campus, cafeterias to feed the students, and so on or recreation facilities such as gym, music room … all need when a myriad of people gather together in a place. Do the managers not care about them, they will face problems. My own experience demonstrates this matter. Having plenty of problems with transferring equipment, When I was in the university, Tehran University. Our dormitory was far from the main campus and we had to go there only by buses. But, unfortunately, the number of buses were too fewer to transfer those number of students. If we missed the bus, we had to walk to campus, missed most of the classes and the professors dissatisfied. After one year, the university added some more buses and therefore that chaos disappears. As you can see, care university not about physical facilities, students will face huge babel.

Second, spending the budget of the university to provide an equipment environment for students, concentrate more on their lessons. Students will be annoyed by dealing with spoiled means so they do not have energy enough to focus as much as they need on the lessons. For instance, lived in the dormitory, when I was in the university because my home was so far from Hamadan where I have studied. We had many problems there because the building was old and equipment did not work well. At some nights, the heaters turned off and lots of students got a bad cough. Furthermore, we could not sleep well because of the bad beds and awoke several times at night, therefore did not have enough focus on classes because of the bad sleeping. As you can see, if we did not have these problems, we could concentrate more on lessons.

To sum up, spending the budget of the universities is better than trying to satisfying the professors, personally. This not only prevents unwanted problems for such a huge number of students but also could provide a satisfactory situation to better performance of students.