TPO 45 In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Decisions that someone makes, are one of the most important factors in his or her life. Genuinely, they determines his level of success in the future. Although a plethora of people hold the opinion that nowadays, young adults are more independent, others disagree with this point of view. I, to a great extent, hold the viewpoint that today, youth make almost all of their decisions by themselves. Among countless reasons which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous one through the following paragraphs.

The first reason that juts out of my mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this issue is the fact that in the present time, the young have a profitable access to the internet, which means that they are able to find a great deal of information about different objects. Therefore, they think that there is no need to consult with their parents due to the fact that they have an access to the others’ opinion and can follow one of them. To make a tangible example, consider a student who wants to apply in a university, yet he is not sure about this matter that which major is more useful. He can start searching in the web pages and utilize other individuals’ experiments. For example, he can read some alumni’s opinion about different majors in the web pages, which really helps him to make an excellent choice. As it is clear, young people are more independent today.

The second and equally exquisite proof for this assertion is about this importance that parents are busier than they were in the past. Therefore; parents cannot spend enough time with their children and as a result, children do not have an opportunity to consult with their parents and have to decide by themselves. To cast more light on this matter, a research that has conducted by some scientists in my country has shown that almost 80 percent of parents spend just one hour pay day with their children. Definitely, in this short time children cannot effectively talk with their parents since there are a variety of objects they want to talk. Therefore, the young are forced to be independent and make decisions lonely.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that young people can make decisions about their lives better that they did in the past. This conclusion is due to this importance that not only are they more knowledgeable today but also most of them have no choice rather than being independent. Consequently, this assertion that youth are more autonomous is completely true.