TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Our friends have an influential and dubious impact in our lives. Genuinely, they are be able to change our destiny. Although the plethora of people hold the opinion that the capability of maintaining a few close friends for a long time is more beneficial, others disagree with this point of view and believe that individuals who are be able to make new friends easily, will gain more profit(U), and they are happier in their lives. I, to a great extent, hold this viewpoint that human beings who are friend with a small group of people for a long time, will enjoy their lives more than the others. Among countless reasons, which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous ones through the following paragraphs.

The first reason that juts out of my mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this issue is the fact that after a long period of time, friends become familiar with each other’s personality. Therefore, all members of small groups have the same characters. Hence, when they spend their free time with each other, they enjoy the same activities such as watching a movie, doing some exercises and so forth, and as a result, they will never argue with each other. To give a tangible example, consider two men who have been friends for 12 years. Definitely, after this period of time, each of them is completely aware of the other’s tastes and never opposes them. Therefore, they would have an enjoyable time with each other. As it is clear, continuing friendship with a few people is more lucrative.

The second and equally exquisite proof for this assertion is about this importance that close friends always make an attempt to help each other in the problems. In such groups, if one of them have a difficulty others will help him and try to find a perfect solution for his problem. Some people may believe that in such situations, having the ability of making many friends is more helpful. Although this point of view is true, people with this opinion should consider the fact that close friends are more reliable thanks to the fact that they have known each other for a long time. To cast more light on this matter, a research conducted by some scientists in my country has shown that your close friends are the best consulter and always guide you toward progress. Therefore, having this kind of friends is more profitable.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that it can be more advantages for a person if he has an ability to retain his close friend for a long period of time. This contention is due to the fact that not only such friends have similar characteristics but also they are very indulgent. Consequently, it is recommended that keep your close friends as much as it is possible.