TPO 49 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friendship is one of the most important aspects of life, and it's undeniable that everyone needs to have friends to company them through the adversities of life. There has been no shortage of debate among individuals on whether it's more beneficial to be able to maintain a moderate number of friends for a long time or be able to make new friends easily. I vehemently cling to the notion that the ability to make new friends is more valuable. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

The first reason coming to mind, elucidating my standpoint, is concerned with the issue that life is fraught with ups and downs, and we can't take anything for granted; therefore, it's vital to be able to tolerate the changes and prepare ourselves for them. To be more specific, in every stage of life we get to know different people, and we can't stay in one place forever, consequently, we should be able to move on and make new friends. My personal example is a clear illustration of this. I studied for my bachelor's degree at one university, and my master's degree at another one, and I'm currently working in another country. Throughout this journey, I managed to know numerous individuals, and this provided me with a great feeling of satisfaction and made my life more fulfilling. In contrast, if I had constricted myself to my university friends, I would have ended up with depression and loneliness. As a result, we should learn how to make friends in every stage of life and gain good interpersonal communication skills. We should learn to create a good rapport with different people in different environments. Moreover, we have to admit that we can't maintain our friends forever and inevitably our life is going to go through some changes, and we have to adapt ourselves and move on.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for corroborating my stance lies in the fact that by making new friends, we enlarge our social circle. Consequently, this would widen our horizons and provide us with highly-developed cognitive skills and critical thinking, which, in turn, opens the door to countless providential and permanent chances to reap benefits from. In fact, the results and statistics of a research study conducted recently, indicate that socially-interactive people are less likely to be diagnosed with depression and anxiety. Moreover, knowing more people enables us to use their help in difficult situations. On the other hand, if we constrict ourselves to a limited number of friends, we will be vulnerable to the vicissitudes of life.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that it's more beneficial for individuals to make new friends conveniently, on the ground that throughout our life we're obliged to leave our friends and comfort zone and meet new people, as well as getting to know new people makes our lives significantly more delightful.