TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that people who maintain their olden friendship are happier than others who make many new friends but they do not try to keep and take care of this relationship. An old friendship provides a person with a sense of safety and self- confidence. So caring from long-term friendship has superiority to making new friends quickly. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that people who have the ability to find friends easily have more opportunity to be successful and happy people. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make new friends easily.

First and foremost, old friends are the nice ones that always are the volunteer in critical situations. For example, two years ago, I was near to lost my house, because of the big failures in my business. All of my co-worker that I know them for a short time, but I count on them to assist me left me behind. In this bad condition, some of my high school close friends borrow money to me and help me to rise from the ashes.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that close friends are more trustworthy in getting a consultation. During a meeting with my old friends, we usually speak about our concern and family or job problems together. All of us attempt to honestly help each other to find a solution to the problem. These conversations remain among us as a mystery. Nevertheless, I cannot be confident enough with my new friends to share these issues with them.

Finally, yet importantly, make a lot of new friends never can supply the sense of belonging for people. In oppose of their brilliant ability to make new friends easily, they are so alone. They communicate with others to obtain some benefits, not for the beauty of friendship. Therefore, without a deep and long-term relationship, they do not experience a feeling of support and happiness provided by nice friends.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that keeping an olden friendship has priority to make a lot of new friends. Because you can count on old friends, be confident to them and feel there is someone who always supports you.